Follow

How do I setup billing rates?

The billing rate trickles down from the user default, to client default, to project default, to activity, to the time entry. For example, changing the rate on the user's profile affects the rate for the client, project and time entries. Changing the rate for a project only affects the project and the time entries.

Note: Changing the billing rate can only happen if you have permissions to do so. If you do not have access to these areas of the program then you would need to contact your System Admin to allow this access for you or to change the rates themselves.

Rates in finalized invoices are not affected by rate changes. If you want them to be affected, just unfinalize the invoice and all the rates will update automatically.

 

To Change a User Billing Rate:

Changing the User rate affects all clients/projects for this user unless they have specific rates setup in them.

  1. Top right, click your name and select My Profile
  2. Click the Edit button (if you have permissions to do so)
  3. Change the Std. Hourly Rate and/or Overtime Rate
  4. Click the Save button

To Change a Client Billing Rate:

Changing a client billing rate will affect all projects and time entries under that client.

  1. Click the Clients tab
  2. Click on the desired client
  3. Click on the client's Billing Rates tab
  4. Make sure Per User is selected (Flat Rate applies to all users billing to this client)
  5. Check the box next to each user you want to change, and type in the desired rate in the Override Rate field. You will see the user's default rate as set in the user's profile.
  6. Click on the Save Changes button

To Change a Project Billing Rate:

Changing a project billing rate does not affect any other projects assigned to that client.

  1. Click the Projects tab
  2. Click on the desired project
  3. Click on the Billing Rates tab
  4. Make sure Per User is selected (Flat Rate will apply to all users billing to this project)
  5. Check the box next to each user you want to change, and type in the desired rate in the Override Rate field. You will see the user's default rate as set in the user's profile.
  6. Click on the Save Changes button

To Change per Activity Rate:

Using billable activity rates will override project, client, and user rates in the system for any client/project.

  1. Go to Settings - Custom Lists tab
  2. Click to edit Billable Activity Types.
  3. Click to use the Rate option
  4. In the rate boxes type in the rate you would like to associate to that specific activity
  5. Click Save and close out the edit box

To Change a Time Entry Rate:

This option is only defaulted for System Admins. If you do not see the option to change your rate per entry then you can turn this on by following the steps below if you have access to do so.

  1. First, click your name at the top right of the screen
  2. Go to User Permission tab
  3. Scroll down to Timecards and check "Can Override billable rates on time entries"
  4. Scroll up and click Save Changes
  5. Click on the Time/Expenses tab
  6. Find the time entry to change the billing rate for by selecting the week and then the day that it occurred
  7. Click on the desired time entry
  8. Put a check next to Override Rate and enter the desired amount
  9. Click Save & Close
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk